The Other Hijab

I am not a racist. But every time I see a head scarf, I don’t know what to call it or where to look. Every time I see a Muslim, I don’t know what to say or how to act. Just the word Muslim leaves me in mental disarray, because I don’t know what to think. [Terrorist?] And every time I board a plane and see a Muslim, I don’t know what to do but pray. But I am not a racist.

BaltimoreSun

The news inspired me to write a poem, The Other Hijab, speaking to the impact of terrorism and anti-Muslim banter in the news.  Ultimately, that poem transformed into a  news article itself, taking center stage on the op-ed page of The Baltimore Sun.  

CLICK HERE

to read more of this article.  Share the article.  Comment with your reactions.  Tweet it to your friends.  It’s time we each take a part in ending our society’s racist ways.  It’s time we clear our world of inequality and biased fear for our children’s futures.

© 2016 Mirissa D. Price: A Dental Student, A Writer, A Journey to Share.

2 thoughts on “The Other Hijab

Leave a Reply

