Awakening to Love

A beautiful blogger and inspiring friend began a practice of daily gratitude in the reflection of Kelly Babcock’s meditations. And did I mention the word ‘inspired’?!

We all experience so much business and busyness in our lives. Many of us live off a to-do list and a vision of the future. Eventually, we forget why we are still running!

So today, let’s remember. Today, let’s pause and put away the to-do list. Let’s appreciate what is beautiful in this very moment and let’s give the present its due time. Today, let’s follow the inspiring lead of a friend and a blogger, and let’s begin our own practice – however it seems fit for you – from a mindset of mindfulness and gratitude.

today, i love.png

April 18, 2017*

Today, I love waking to the sleep in my eyes, letting it hold me in stillness for a second longer. I love stretching back my arms, and feeling my hand against the wall. I love the walls of my room, how softly they’re painted yellow. And how they turn and bend at the strangest of angles. I love lifting my head, and seeing the white of the fireplace. I love that the fireplace doesn’t work, but that it holds treasures – because I always forget what I throw in there. Today, I love feeling the cool hardwood against my toes, and feeling the cracks in the hundred year old floor. And I love how the cool floor brings out the warm kiss of the room. I love the humidity. I love how mother nature fights with my need to feel ‘pretty,’ just curling my hair to be ‘natural.’ I love turning back to the bed, and seeing the bedsheets slide off. But doing nothing about it. I love that they’ll wait tossled until I’m ready. Today, I love taking a bite of a bagel even though it’s still Passover. I love knowing that I don’t even have to think about the ‘rules’ anymore, that I only think about my health. I love that Judaism bows to my health. Today I love writing while contemplating comedy.

*Don’t mind the date. Responsibility happened ♥

Are you ready to take the TODAY I LOVE challenge? Comment or share on your own blog when you feel inspired.

© 2017 Mirissa D. Price: A Dental Student, A Writer, A Journey to Share.

Leave a Reply

